PodCast On multiples of 60min.

You guys have been holding out on me. Why hasn’t anyone told me yet how awesome podcasts are?

Or is it maybe just me — have I been living under a rock or something?

Well, if that’s so, then I have emerged out from under my rock, blinking in the light and flooded with wonderful sound.

This past week’s been pretty crappy: some personal stuff that I was hoping for fell through; I’ve been hit with a megaton cold; being sick caused me to take a day off of work which I couldn’t even enjoy, knowing that buckets of work waits for me, and also to miss out (again) on knitnight (which looked like fun); I still haven’t figured out which sweater to knit.

But none of that stuff really matters. I’ll get over it, aided by some very good things that are going on in the background, and by taking it easy. And “taking it easy” is made, well, easier with a prescription of podcasts.

I have spend the last two evenings wearing comfy pajamas, spinning of the Lendrum wheel kindly lent to me for the week by Krista, and listening to Cast On. Brenda Dayne’s soothing voice washes over my ears with the same soft warmth as the fiber between my fingers. Her guests read their essays, sometimes insightful and poignant, other times witty an irreverent; the interviewees answer openly and with good humour. The ‘podsafe’ musical interludes are carefully selected to meet the themes, and often are so catchy I’ve had to watch out lest I treadle to the rhythm. Everyone “speaks jive” — the knitting terms, the lightsaber flash of mystical Addi Turbos, the praise for the latest inspiring blog project. It’s almost as good as going to a knitnight: you know you’re in good knitterly company.

And this is just my first taste! I know there are many more popular knitting podcasts available; I just need to track them down and lad them up.

I feel like I have just discovered that I can hear as well as see and touch. Every day there seems to be a new dimension to the knitting community, and I am so happy that I am making it a part of my life, becoming a part of it myself. I have more projects to blog about, new handspun to add to Ravelry, more pattens to dream up and share.

But for now, you’ll have to excuse me — I still have to take it easy, so I think I’ll go spin and Cast On.

4 Comments

Filed under podcasts, rambling

4 responses to “PodCast On multiples of 60min.

  1. I hope you feel better soon! I can’t wait to see what you’ve spun!

    Oh, and now you have me listening to Cast On. ;)

  2. I’m a bit of a podcast addict. Make sure you check out Stash and Burn (my fav), Sticks n String and Lime n Violet (start with the early episodes, the more current ones are wayy off topic and a bit more difficult to get into).

  3. Well I’ve been rambling about Stash and Burn for a few months now, so if you’ve missed that then that’s all on your head, baby! ;) but yes, knitting podcasts are great. I have found that they are a matter of personal taste, so definitely try a few and see what you like.

  4. I LOOOOVE Cast On! As soon as I got into it I put a button on my blog so everyone else could share in the love!

Leave a Reply

